Shillong, Mar 9: Sputnik Spartan CC took home the Shillong Cricket League First Division trophy in a 16-run victory over Sunrise CC in the final today.

Sunrise started by winning the toss and making Sputnik Spartan bat first.

Led by a century from man-of-the-match Supriyo Chanda (102 off 81 deliveries), which included 12 fours and three sixes, Sputnik Spartan amassed a challenging 197 runs for the loss of eight wickets in the allotted 35 overs. Banri Kharmalki claimed the best figures for Sunrise, ending with 3-11 in 7 overs.

There were plenty of Sunrise batsmen who got starts, but none went on to score a big innings. Manish Sangma top-scored with 37 as Sunrise were bowled out for 181 in 31.5 overs, just 17 runs short of victory. Paway Ray did the damage for Sputnik Spartan, taking 3-26 in his 7 overs. Chanda also took two wickets.

Bikash Mahato of Sunrise was adjudged man-of-the-tournament for taking 17 wickets and scoring 57 runs.

(Photo contributed by the Shillong Cricket Association)

Facebook Comments