Shillong, Jun 26: The Shooting Association of Meghalaya (SAM) organised the two-day 4th Meghalaya State Shooting Championship over the weekend at the Assam Regimental Centre here.

This edition saw a marked increase in shooters, with 50 taking part, some in multiple events. There was a total of 10 female shooters. The oldest participant was 55 years old and the youngest just 16.

Among the many events, there were some making an appearance for the first time, namely 50m free pistol and 50m peep sight rifle. The categories held were for men, women, youth, junior, senior and services.

R Bhagawati a judge of the International Shooting Sport Federation as the Competition Director for the championship and he was supported by an experienced team for classification and compilation of scores and final results.

SAM President John Kharshiing said that the championship is part of the association’s selection process to pick top Meghalaya shooters for the upcoming 6th North East Zone Shooting Championship, which will be held in Aizawl.

The tournament was opened on 23rd June by the NEEPCO Chairman and Managing Director AG West Kharkongor in the presence of Colonel SP Gangal. Brigadier RP Gaikwad, the Commandant of the Assam Regimental Centre, was the chief guest at the closing ceremony.

Results (in order of gold, silver, bronze):
10m air pistol (women, senior) – Shirley Kharbuli, Toiabha Mylliempdah, Balarishisha Rani
10m air pistol (men, senior) – Lam Min Lun, John Thounaojam Davis NR Marak
10m rifle (women, senior) – Anjali Singh, S Rebecca, LH Nengboi
10m rifle (women, junior) – Alice Gangte
25m centre fire pistol (men) – Sailen Rabha, Walsall M Momin, Rajen Bordoloi
25m standard pistol (men) – Sailen Rabha, John Thounaojam, P Kharshiing
25m sports pistol (women) – Shirley Kharbuli, Toiabha Mylliempdah
50m free pistol (men) – P Kharshiing, Davis NR Marak, Walsall M Momin
10m pistol (services) – Shisheer Gurung, Mego Vizo, Kaisuamang
10m air rifle (services) – IN Kr Sinha, Mhathung Kikon, A Kom
10m air rifle (services, junior) – Kapil Malik, Arpan Thapa, Prakash KC
Open sight .22 rifle prone (men, senior) – Juti Daimary, TH Biswakarma, Pynkhemlang Surong
Open sight .22 rifle prone (women, senior) – Amalisha Sangma, Sengrikchi Marak
Peep sight 50m (men) – Hiamdor Lyngdoh, W Nongsiej, W Kharkongor
Peep sight 50m .22 rifle prone (women, senior) – Veronica Buhroy, Anjali Singh
Peep sight 50m 3 positions (men) – Hiamdor Lyngdoh, W Kharkongor, Mawdaker Marwein


(Photo contributed by the Shooting Association of Meghalaya)

Facebook Comments