Shillong, Oct 19: Defending champions Shillong Lajong and new participants Langsning each announced their 30-member squads for the U-18 Youth League 2018-19 today.

The two teams will kick off the Shillong-Guwahati zonal round in a match against each other on 22nd October at Third Ground here at 2PM. NorthEast United, Gauhati Town Club and Sports Authority of India Guwahati are the other three teams in the group and these three will be based out of Guwahati.

Lajong created history back in May by winning the U-18 Youth League 2-0 over Kerala Blasters, their first national title ever since they qualified for the I-League the second time back in 2011. SLFC were unbeaten throughout the entire tournament (the concluding rounds of which were held in Shillong) and conceded just three goals, while scoring 23.

Many of the players who won that title have been moved up into the senior team, but there are a few familiar faces from that squad, like Samuel Kynshi, Phrangki Buam, Kynsailang Khongsit and Parvaj Bhuiya. These players might be needed by Lajong for the I-League, however, so they might not be available for the entire U-18 Youth League.

Following on from last year’s U-18 Youth League came the U-18 Shillong Premier League in which Lajong rested several of their champion players in favour of some even younger ones. They couldn’t defend their U-18 SPL title, however, finishing fourth out of six teams.

The U-18 Shillong Premier League 2018 champions Langsning (TSR file photo)

The 2018 title, instead, was won by Langsning, who beat Sawmer 3-0 in the final in July.

Many of those same players will take Langsning into the U-18 Youth League, like Hamboy Lyngdoh, Iakmenlang Khongjee, Arkidalang Myrthong and three who had played in this year’s senior SPL – Arnesius Marwein, Figo Syndai and Defence Nongtdu. Langsning also appear to have snapped up Sawmer’s Rapborlang Marwein, who has impressed TSR in the SPL this year.

Langsning lost just one match in the U-18 SPL on their way to lifting the trophy and will definitely look to give Lajong a run for their money in the Youth League.

In a Lajong press release today their celebrated youth coach Bobby Nongbet said, “The league gets tougher every year and with more Indian Super League teams, I-League teams and academies participating, the league will only take us to the next level of the competition. We will do whatever we can to defend the title with a relatively new squad this season.”

Some of those SLFC players who weren’t used in this year’s SPL squad were kept busy by playing for Rising FC in the First Division where they finished a close third. Nongbet also gave Rising some coaching help during their campaign.

On Langsning, the Lajong coach said, “Langsning are not a team to be underestimated. They have showcased good performances in the U-18 Shillong Premier League and even got the better of us during that time. But we are shaping well as a team and I think it will be a good derby match. We have to be sharp and work harder to overcome them.”

Shillong Lajong squad:
Goalkeepers – Akash Thapa, Rajat Paul Lyngdoh, C Vanlalhriata, Bishal Lama. Defenders – Habymmutshuh Nongrum, Kynsailang Khongsit, Naoroibam Romen Singh, Apborlang Kurbah, A Rakesh Singh, Kitboklang Khyriem, Muhammed Safique Ahmed, Dajied Wanshnong, Denzil Gorby Warjri, Aman Ahlawat. Midfielders – Abedniko Kurbah, Baiaikara Swer, Freestar Kharbangar, Maxderidoff Wahlang, Phrangki Buam, Samuel Kynshi, Aenam Graffenberg Jyrwa, Donboklang Lyngdoh, F Lalrohlua, Batskhemlang Thangkhiew, Remark Kharmalki, Solomon Mangte, Sunil Chettri. Forwards – Batiplang Synteng Bamon, Parvaj Bhuiya, Thongram Santosh Singh
Langsning squad (names only):
Alfarson Kurbah, Andyson Lapang, Arkidalang Myrthong, Arnesius Marwein, Bankyrshanlang Lyngdoh Mawphlang, Banteilang Lyngdoh, Batskhembor Nongkynrih, Damonlang Pathaw, Dahunpura Marpan, Dawanbiang Lyngdoh, Defence Nongtdu, Demanding Syngkli, Deranius Wahlang, Figo Syndai, Hamboy Lyngdoh, Iakmenlang Oswald Khongjee, Iengskhem Rympei, Jefferson Nongphlang, Justarfill Syiemlieh, Bryan Shadap, Mebantei Kupar R Mylliemngap, Mediphrangki Pohleng, Micheal Marwein, Rapborlang Marwein, Rickyson Makdoh, Risuk Malngiang, Shemjingmut Kharmyndai, Niwan-o Bareh, Everson Malieh, Wadskhem Marbaniang


(Featured photo of Shillong Lajong’s U-18 Youth League squad contributed by Shillong Lajong FC)

Facebook Comments