Shillong, Mar 30: TNT Sputnik were crowned champions of the Shillong Cricket League’s Super Division here today, with New Friends Union finishing as runners-up on the second day of the final.

The match was a draw, but Sputnik won the title on having scored the bigger first innings total.

On the first day yesterday NFU won the toss and opted the field first, with Sputnik amassing 383/7 declared. Swarajeet Das hit a century (114 off 157 deliveries), while Abhay Negi contributed 92 and Mark Ingty 69.

NFU lost two wickets before close of play and resumed today morning on 4/2. NFU were ultimately all out for 201, with Asif Khan top-scoring with 90. Chaman Pushp returned figures of 4/27 for Sputnik.

In their second innings Sputnik reached 119/7 before stumps. Amiangshu Sen was the saving grace in Sputnik’s second innings with an unbeaten 58 from 61 balls. Raj Biswa took 3/24 for NFU and finished with six wickets in the match.

The prize distribution ceremony followed, not just for the Super Division, but also for the First and Second Divisions, which concluded earlier. Nongthymmai were the champions of the First Division, having beaten Khalsa Warriors in the 9th March final. The Second Division was won by Slog Warriors, with Sporting CC finishing as runners-up.

Das was named man-of-the-match for his performance in the Super Division final, while Biswa was man-of-the-tournament. In the First Division Reuben Najiar was named man-of-the-match in the final, with Ravi Singh the man-of-the-tournament. The Second Division’s man-of-the-tournament was Jiten Rabha.

Sports & Youth Affairs Commissioner & Secretary and chief guest Peter Dkhar, Sports & Youth Affairs Director Wanri Booth were among those who distributed the individual prizes and trophies.

(TSR photo)
Facebook Comments