Shillong, May 16: Shillong Secondary School and Gorkha Pathshala won the U-14 and U-17 categories respectively of the Shillong Cricket Associations’ Inter School Cricket Tournament 2019 in the finals here today.

In the morning match Shillong Secondary won the toss and put Jail Road Boys School in to bat first, with the latter restricted to 70/7 in 15 overs. Rahul Barman top-scored with 19, while Mith Paul claimed the best figures of 2/12. Shillong Secondary then cruised to victory, making 71/1 in 11 overs, with Sumit Paul (33) and Parvez Ali (31) providing most of the runs.

The U-17 title, named after Babu Ondromoni Dkhar, was claimed by Gorkha Pathshala in the afternoon.

RB Anup Chand School won the toss and opted to bat first, making 75/7 in 15 overs, with Sudhir Sahani top-scoring with 24. Roshan Sharma returned the best figures with 2/12. Gorkha Patshala also had it easy in the chase, making 78/2 in 10 overs. Sonu Alam smashed 41 off just 25 deliveries to guide his side to victory.

The prize distribution followed, with those giving away the awards being Sports & Youth Affairs Deputy Director Jasper Marak, East Khasi Hills District Sports Officer Daniel Dann, top Meghalaya footballer Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Meghalaya Cricket Association Honorary Secretary Naba Bhattacharjee.

Award winners:
U-14 Best Bowler – Mithu Paul (Shillong Secondary School)
U-14 Best Batsman – Rahul Barman (Jail Road Boys School)
U-14 Best Wicketkeeper – Adit Raman (St Edmund’s School)
U-14 Best Disciplined Team – Shillong Secondary School
U-14 man-of-the-final & man-of-the-tournament – Sumit Paul (Shillong Secondary School)
U-17 Best Bowler – Roshan Sharma (Gorkha Pathshala)
U-17 Best Batsman – Saumyadeep Bhattacharjee (KV Upper Shillong)
U-17 Best Wicketkeeper – Karan Jaiswal (Gorkha Pathshala)
U-17 man-of-the-final – Sonu Alam (Gorkha Pathshala)
U-17 man-of-the-tournament – Sudhir Sahani (RB Anup Chand Shool)
U-17 Best Disciplined team – All Saints Diocesan School
Most Promising Player – Sudip Sings (Jail Road Boys School)


(Photo contributed by Shillong Cricket Association)

Facebook Comments