Shillong, Jul 12: The Second Division began today at Third Ground, Polo, with Nongthymmai registering a 3-1 victory over Umphyrnai in Group A.

There are 14 teams divided into two groups of seven. Group A consists of Nongthymmai, Umphyrnai, Sohiong, Lumshyiap, Laitumkhrah, Laitkyrhong and Sohryngkham. Group B consists of Laitkor, Mylliem, Riatsamthiah, Mawryngkneng, Jongksha, Nongumlong and Wahingdoh.

Mylliem and Umphyrnai gained promotion from last season’s Third Division, while Sohryngkham and Wahingdoh were relegated from the First Division. Laitkyrhong, meanwhile, gained direct entry after winning the auction for a vacant spot after Ryntih similarly won the auction for the vacant Shillong Premier League place.

Today Umphyrnai took the lead in the 16th minute through S Dkhar, but Nongthymmai came right back, scoring three in a row via C Jana (45’) and a brace from B Mawlong (56’, 78’).

The Second Division fixtures for July. All matches will take place at Third Ground and start at 3:45PM
Facebook Comments