Shillong, Jul 19: Nongthymmai Sports & Cultural Club began its year-long platinum jubilee celebrations here on Wednesday with a race around the Nongthymmai Pyllun area.

The race began at 6:30AM and started and ended at Madan Nongthymmai. The chief guest was local MLA Charles Pyngrope, with other dignitaries present including local MDC Latiplang Kharkongor, ex-MLA Jemino Mawthoh and Meghalaya State Olympic Association Working President John Kharshiing.

Pyngrope announced a donation of Rs 1 lakh for this event and Rs 6 lakh for work on the club building.

The club also felicitated the Nongthymmai cricket team, who were champions of the First Division of the Shillong Cricket League 2019.

In Wednesday’s race the winners received Rs 5,000, with Rs 3,000 going to the runners-up and Rs 1,500 to the third-placed finishers. There were also prizes of Rs 1,500 for the oldest participant (60-year-old Ksanborlang Kharmawphlang) and the youngest (eight-year-old Terisa Tarida Riahtam and nine-year-old Riki O Laloo).

Race category podium finishers:

U-14 girls: 1st Banri Nylla Nongdhar; 2nd Elisika Riahtam; 3rd Rosanna Kharkongor

U-14 boys: 1st Aman Chettri; 2nd Bikral Chyrmang; 3rd Deiwahun Pohsngap

U-19 girls: 1st Diana Wahlang; 2nd Naki Tariang; 3rd Mariba Langwar

U-19 boys: 1st Pynskhemlang Jana; 2nd Diangmon Rymbai; 3rd Banskhemlang Nongdhar

Open category (women): 1st Darishisha Iangjuh; 2nd Nicole LO Nongrum; 3rd Lucille Mukhim

Open category (men): 1st Marvin R Kharkongor; 2nd Rishanlang Myrthong; 3rd Henry Mukhim

(Photo contributed by Nongthymmai SCC)

Facebook Comments