Shillong, Sep 22: John Kharshiing has been reelected as Working President of the Meghalaya State Olympic Association on a four-year term.

The MSOA elections were held in the city on Friday along with its annual general meeting.

Kharshiing resigned last September as Working President because he was no longer an office bearer of the Meghalaya Boxing Association and the MSOA’s constitution requires its senior members be affiliated with a recognised sports association. However, it turned out that the MSOA constitution actually allowed for Kharshiing to serve out his term despite not being an office bearer of the boxing association.

Apart from Kharshiing’s reelection, Chiranjib Choudhury was also returned as General Secretary.

Two advisors, without voting rights, were also appointed – BK Dey Sawian and Robert G Lyngdoh.

MSOA executive council (2019-2023):
President – Banteidor Lyngdoh (ex-officio)
Working President – John Kharshiing
Vice-Presidents – Bor Diengdoh, Matsiewdor War Nongbri, Ian Lyngdoh, SS Swett, Rajesh Kamal
General Secretary – Chiranjib Choudhury
Treasurer – Ksan Warjri
Joint Secretaries – Finely Pariat, Richard Dkhar
Executive members – Donny Ranee, Donald Wahlang, Joe Marwein, P Laloo, EMH Passah, Batskhem Basaiawmoit, D Ryntathiang, Stadhi Nongrum

(Photo contributed)

Facebook Comments