Shillong, Dec 26: Shillong College Higher Secondary School will look to defend their crown in the Senior Boys category as they lead the charge for East Zone in the Reliance Foundation Youth Sports (RFYS) 2019-20 National Football Finals, starting Friday in Mumbai.

The fourth-season of RFYS Football 2019-20 kicked off in August, witnessing 6,700 football games featuring 10,000 educational institutions across 90 cities with 1.2 lakh young athletes competing in five categories of Sub Junior Boys, Junior Boys, Senior Boys, College Boys and School Girls.

The last leg of action will now move to Reliance Corporate Park, Ghansoli, Navi Mumbai beginning this Friday when the best 40 teams – winners of their respective zonal finals, with 800 budding footballers converge in Mumbai for the national championship over the next 10 days. The mega finals will be played on 5th January.

With Shillong College HSS, nine other Eastern teams will be pitted against the best in the country across all five categories. Shillong and Imphal have three representations each with two Guwahati schools also making the cut in the finals for this season of RFYS competitions. Focus will also be on the Shillong team, H Elias Memorial School, the 2019 Subroto Cup winners, who are competing in the Junior boys category.

As for the North Zone, National capital Delhi for the first time will be represented by four teams – Vedas International School (Sub Junior), Mamta Model SSS (both Junior & Senior) and Sharda University (College Boys). In addition, Chandigarh duo Govt. Model High School Sector 36 (Sub Junior) and Chitkara International School (Senior) have made the cut along with DAV PG College Dehradun (College), Maharana Pratap Sports College Dehradun (Junior), Gorkha Military Inter College Dehradun and St. Joseph’s Intl School Rohtak (both School Girls) will also vie for the ultimate prize.

East Zone Teams
Sub Junior Boys Betkuchi High School (Guwahati), The Unique Model Academy (Imphal)
Junior Boys : H Elias Memorial School (Shillong), TG English School (Imphal)
Senior Boys : Shillong College HSS (Shillong), Shyama Prosad Inter College (Jamshedpur)
School Girls : Titaguri High School (Guwahati), Nilmani English School (Imphal)
College Boys : Shillong College, Dr. Bhupendranath Dutta Smriti Mahahvidyalaya (Kolkata)

North Zone Teams
Sub Junior Boys Govt. Model High School Sector 36 (Chandigarh), Vedas Intl School (Delhi)
Junior Boys : Mamta Modern Sr Secondary School (Delhi), Maharana Pratap Sports College (Dehradun)
Senior Boys : Chitkara Intl School (Chandigarh), Mamta Modern Sr Secondary School (Delhi)
School Girls : Gorkha Military Inter College (Dehradun), St. Joseph’s Intl School (Rohtak)
College Boys : DAV PG College (Dehradun), Sharda University (Delhi)

(Reliance Foundation Youth Sports photo)

Facebook Comments