Shillong, Jan 27: Rangkynsai CC won the First Division title of the Shillong Cricket Association’s 2019-20 season by defeating Nongmensong CC by six wickets here today.

Nongmensong made 191/6 in their allotted 35 overs after being put in to bat first by Rangkynsai, who won the toss.

They were able to score at a run rate of 5.46 thanks to the quick runs of Arpit Bhatewari (60 off 62 deliveries) and Roshan Warbah (46 off 47). Nongmensong, however, were pegged back thanks to the economical bowling of Pynhun Kharnarbi, who took 2/19 in four overs. Sanjay Lyngdoh also bagged a brace, finishing with 2/40 in seven overs.

In reply Ajay Duhan almost got to a century as he led Rangkynsai to victory in 33 overs for the loss of just four wickets. Duhan scored 99 from 84 balls and was named man-of-the-match. Bipin Rai claimed two wickets for Nongmensong but gave away a rather expensive 54 runs in seven overs in the process.

At the prize distribution ceremony Bhatewara was named man-of-the-series.

The final and the two semifinals were held only in the last few days as the Covid-19 pandemic had disrupted organised cricket in Shillong for the past 10 months. The SCA’s 2020-21 season will now soon commence.

(Photo: Shillong Cricket Association)

Facebook Comments