Shillong, Mar 6: Laitjem CC are the champions of the second edition of the East Khasi Hills Cricket Association’s District League T20 Cricket Tournament 2023 by beating Hurdles CC by three wickets in Smit today.

The low-scoring match went down to the wire, with Laitjem requiring 19.5 overs to chase down a target of 106 for victory.

Hurdles, of Mawsynram, won the toss and batted first but were bowled out in 19.3 overs for 105. They got to where they did largely thanks to a 25-ball 31 by Sandy Stone Kharshandi. Arnold Shadap was the destructor-in-chief with the ball, taking 4/20 in 4 overs, while team mate Mebanshan Kharsati chipped in with 2/12 in 3.3 overs.

Kharsati then top-scored in the chase with 26 from 29 deliveries for Laitjem. Ricky Stone Nongbet (2/17) had the best figures for Hurdles.

Kharsati was named Player of the Match and Nongbet was the Player of the Tournament.

Meghalaya Cricket Association President Naba Bhattacharjee was present as chief guest on the occasion.

(East Khasi Hills Cricket Association photo)

Facebook Comments