Shillong, Mar 26: The Senior Men and the U-25 Men Selection Committee of Meghalaya Cricket Association has selected a 15-member squad led by Wanlambok Nongkhlaw to represent the state at the forthcoming 1st North East Inter State Friendship Tournament.

The tournament is being organised by the North East Cricket Development Committee (NECDC) in Nagaland from 29 March.

The Meghalaya players will leave for Nagaland on 28 March accompanied by the support staff.

The NECDC is a coordination body comprising Meghalaya, Nagaland, Manipur, Sikkim and Mizoram that was formed in 2016 to ensure unity and a concerted approach concerning the North East states in matters related to permanent membership, participation in the Ranji Trophy and other BCCI tournaments, game and infrastructure development, etc.

The format of the one day cricket tournament will see the six states divided into two groups of three, with a round robin stage followed by the semifinals and final.

Meghalaya squad: Wanlambok Nongkhlaw (Captain), Kishan Lyngdoh, Swarajeet Das, Ram Gurung, Jaskirat Singh Sachdeva, Rohit Shah (WK), Lerry G Sangma, Raj Biswa (Vice-Captain), Manish Sharma, Akash K Choudhary, Arbin Singh, Kevin Sanjeev Christopher (WK), Abhishek Kumar, Sanvert Kurkalang, Anish Charak

Standby players: Chengkam Sangma, Arien B Sangma, Tarique Anwar Siddique

Meghalaya officials: Chiang D Shira, Biswajit Dasgupta

Facebook Comments