Shillong, Sep 8: The Meghalaya Cricket Association has named its 15-member squad for the 2019-20 Vijay Hazare one-day tournament.

As in last year, Meghalaya are in the Plate Group with eight other teams – Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Puducherry, Sikkim and Uttarakhand.

The Plate Group matches will begin on 24th September in Dehra Dun, the MCA said in a press release today.

The Meghalaya squad has a number of changes to the one that took part in the Vijay Hazare for the first time last season, though Punit Singh Bisht has been retained as one of the three guest/professional players and is likely to captain the side.

Last year Meghalaya finished fifth in the nine-team group with four wins and four losses.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Bisht was the second-highest scorer last season in the Ranji Trophy in the country.

The other two professionals signed for this season are Ravi Teja, who played Ranji Trophy for Hyderabad and captained the side until switching over to play for Andhra Pradesh. He is a batting all-rounder who bowls leg spin. He also represented South Zone and India A and played for Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Indian Premier League.

The other professional is Sanjay Yadav, who played for Tamil Nadu. He is a batting all-rounder who bowls slow left-arm orthodox. He was signed up by the Kolkata Knight Riders for the 2017 IPL.

The Meghalaya coach is Gautam Shome, a former Ranji player for Bengal and a qualified coach of National Cricket Academy who has coached the Bengal team for several years.

Meghalaya squad: Amiangshu Sen, Dipu Sangma, Wallambok Nongkhlaw, Sylvester Mylliempdah, Raj Biswa, Larry Gomes Sangma, Tengchan Sangma, Aditya Singhania, Abhay Negi, Akash Chaudhary, Wallam John Lyngdoh, Swarajeet Das, Punit Singh Bisht, Ravi Teja, Sanjay Yadav

(TSR representative photo)

Facebook Comments