Shillong, Apr 19: Meghalaya bowled out Mizoram for 226 on the first day of the Col CK Nayudu Trophy plate group match in Cuttack today.

Mizoram won the toss and chose to bat first but lost a wicket for zero runs on the board in the first over to Abhishek Kumar, who finished with 2/25.

Practically all the Mizoram batters got starts but they had to wait until No. 9 K Vanrotlinga managed a big score. He finished unbeaten on 52.

Bipin Kumar Ray (3/57) and Agreas Chamcham Sangma (3/72) were the most successful of Meghalaya’s bowlers, while the other wicket went to Mickey Marngar (1/33).

Mizoram ate up 74 overs, so Meghalaya had an uncomfortable hour of play to negotiate before stumps but Arien B Sangma (9 not out) and Ibitlang Thabah (10 not out) handled it well enough for Meghalaya to finish on 19 without loss, still trailing by 207 runs.

(Meghalaya Cricket Association photo. Mizoram captain R Lalruatfela (left) and Meghalaya captain Swastic Chettri (right))

Facebook Comments