Shillong, Sep 30: Richly-deserved champions Mawlai SC were presented with the OC Blue Shillong Premier League 2021-22 trophy today, following the conclusion of the last match of the season.

The 56th match ended 2-1 in favour of Mawlai against Langsning FC at Third Ground, Polo, here.

Sports & Youth Affairs Minister Banteidor Lyngdoh was the chief guest and handed over the trophy to the champions, who had secured the title on 9th September. The minister also officially declared this season’s OC Blue SPL, which began back on 15th June, closed.

Mawlai were presented with a cheque of Rs 3 lakh by representatives of title sponsors OC Blue, Pijush Dey and Lakshya Jit Borah. Also present on the occasion were Shillong Sports Association President Eugeneson Lyngdoh MLA and other senior members of the SSA, the organisers of the tournament.

Langsning’s defeat meant that they finished third in the standings and that gave the runners-up slot to Rangdajied United FC, who received Rs 1 lakh from the sponsors.

Today Mawlai piled on the pressure in the first half and got the reward in the 32nd minute after captain Brolington Warlarpih delivered a free-kick low along the ground that Donlad Diengdoh flicked in. Just before the break, Fullmoon Mukhim (45’+1) got on the end of a corner kick and headed the ball in powerfully to the delight of the Mawlai fans, who crowded round the ground, despite the heavy rainfall in the first half.

Langsning tried their level best to get back into the contest and substitute Arnesius Marwein gave them a flicker of hope after he headed home a Kitboklang Pale cross in the 74th minute. However, the team were unable to come close to scoring again and Mawlai carried the match.

Thus ended an enthralling season of the OC Blue SPL, which brought tremendous joy to football fans who had gone without the local top flight competition for the past two years due to the Covid-19 pandemic. There were 166 goals scored, just under 3 per game on average, by 75 different scorers in some notable matches that featured fantastic team and individual performances, which made this one of the most memorable seasons of the OC Blue SPL.

(TSR photo)

Facebook Comments