Shillong, Jan 20: Shillong Lajong FC are one of four clubs that will participate in the qualifiers for the Second Division League 2022-23, which will be held next month in Assam’s Kokrajhar.

This marks the first time that Lajong will attempt to regain entry to the I-League after being relegated at the end of the 2018-19 season.

The other three teams are Corbett FC (from Uttarakhand), United Chirang Duar FC (Assam) and Downtown Heroes FC (Jammu & Kashmir).

The qualifiers will begin on 12th February and conclude on 16th February.

The top two teams from the round robin meet will qualify for the Second Division where they will join 17 other clubs that have been seeded directly.

The 19 teams will be divided into four groups and play on a home and away basis from March.

Second Division Qualifiers:  

12th February:
Corbett FC vs Shillong Lajong FC
United Chirang Duar FC vs Downtown Heroes FC

14th February:
Shillong Lajong FC vs United Chirang Duar FC
Downtown Heroes FC vs Corbett FC

16th February:
Shillong Lajong FC vs Downtown Heroes FC
United Chirang Duar FC vs Corbett FC

(Representational photo)

Facebook Comments