Shillong, Jun 8: Three Meghalaya cricketers have been selected to represent the North East Zone at this year’s Duleep Trophy.

The three are (pictured left to right) batter Kishan Lyngdoh, fast bowler Akash Kumar Choudhary and all-rounder Dippu Ch Sangma.

The 15-member squad to represent the NE Zone in the BCCI’s Duleep Trophy was finalised at a meeting of the zonal selection committee, which was chaired by the zonal convener and Meghalaya Cricket Association President Naba Bhattacharjee on 4th June.

The tournament will be held between 28th June and 28th July. The Duleep Trophy, which began in 1961-62, is one of the major events in the BCCI’s domestic calendar, bringing together players in mixed teams from six zones. The North East Zone was created in 2019-20.

Players in the North East squad were chosen after a “detailed scrutiny of records, statistics” and other relevant information of individual performers from the six zonal states (Meghalaya, Sikkim, Manipur, Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh) in the 2022-23 BCCI senior domestic tournaments, primarily the Ranji Trophy, and North East Cricket Development Committee one day competition.

“A major decision of the selection was to give emphasis on local players of all member states, who performed well last season, with a view to promote and give opportunity to them in the national arena and exposure to play against the top players of the country,” Bhattacharjee said. The support staff have also been shortlisted from local resources, though the BCCI has been requested to nominate a performance analyst and masseur.

North East Zone squad: R Jonathan (Nagaland, Captain), Nilesh Lamichaney (Sikkim, Vice-Captain), Kishan Lyngdoh (Meghalaya), Langlonyamba (Manipur), AR Ahlawat (Arunachal Pradesh), Joseph Lalthankhuma (Mizoram), Prafullamani (Manipur, Wicketkeeper), Dippu Ch Sangma (Meghalaya), Jotin Pheiroijam (Manipur), Imliwati Lemtur (Nagaland), Palzor Tamang (Sikkim), Kishan Singha (Manipur), Akash Kumar Choudhury (Meghalaya), Rajkumar Rex Singh (Manipur), Nagaho Chishi (Nagaland)
Support staff: Sonam Palden Bhutia (Sikkim, Coach), Th Kamlesh (Manipur, Physio), Vikash S Chauhan (Meghalaya, Trainer), Dister Marbaniang (Meghalaya, Manager)
Reserve players: Lee Yong Lepcha (Sikkim), Nabam Abo (Arunachal Pradesh), Dika Ralte (Mizoram)

(File photos)

Facebook Comments