Shillong, Dec 12: The Meghalaya State League, a football tournament bringing together 16 clubs from across the state in one league, was formally inaugurated in Shillong today by Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma.

The clubs have been divided into four groups of five teams, with the opening match of the tournament to be held in Kurkalang, Ri-Bhoi, on 16th December.

Rs 5 lakh will go to the winners, with Rs 3 lakh to the runners-up. In the group stage the teams will play in a round-robin format, followed by home-and-away semifinals for the sides that qualify at the top of their respective groups. 

The final will be held on 6th January.

Group A (venue: Jowai)
• Umkiang SC
• Raliang SC
• Hynniewwasa SC
• Umlatkhur SC
• Jalaphet Lumsachram SC
Group B (venue: Kurkalang)
• Shilliang Umdoh SC
• Pyndenumbri SC
• Rising FC
• Rangdajied United FC
• Langsning SC
Group C (venue: Mairang)
• Mawten SC
• Madan Bynther SC
• Pyndengrei SC&CC
• Tynrongmawsaw SC
• Malki SC
Group D (venue: Ampati)
• Druma Sandruma SC
• Atong Matgrik FC
• Warima SC
• Resu Conventus FC
• Ampati SC

Facebook Comments