Shillong, Jun 22: Batsrang A Sangma and Darishisha Iangjuh won the men’s and women’s races respectively at the Shillong 10K Run, which was held in Shillong today to celebrate Olympic Day.

The Meghalaya State Olympic Association (MSOA), as part of its celebrations of Olympic Day 2019, organised an Inter-College Sports Quiz Competition, which was won by St Anthony’s College, at U Soso Tham Auditorium on Tuesday and the 10km race and the non-competitive ‘Run for Fun’ today.

Sports & Youth Affairs Minister Banteidor Lyngdoh, who was the chief guest, flagged off the Shillong 10K Run and the ‘Run for Fun’ at 7AM. A substantial increase in participants on last year’s event saw more than 300 athletes, including youngsters and senior citizens, compete in the races.

“This year I’m very happy to see double the number of participants,” Lyngdoh said. He also paid tribute to special guest Kmoin Wahlang, a septuagenarian marathoner from South West Khasi Hills, who he said has “lifted the name of the state” through her participation in marathons in the country.

The minister also ran in a section of the ‘Run for Fun’ with members of the MSOA, including Working President John Kharshiing and East Khasi Hills Deputy Commissioner Matsiewdor War Nongbri.

In the 10km race, Sangma crossed the finish line in a time of 35 minutes, 11.20 seconds, slightly slower than last year’s winning time of 34:44.12, which was set by Mudang Omo. In second place was NP Singh, who finished 10 seconds behind Sangma (35:21.90), while Emphius Nongrum came third (35:48.33).

The podium in the women’s race was dominated by the same set of faces from last year, but in a different order. Last year Pynhun Shulet had won, with Iangjuh second and Dateibankynmaw Marwein third.

This time around Iangjuh took first position in a time of 44 minutes, 12.96 seconds, marginally better than the winning time from 2018 (44:15). Marwein took second place (46:06.29), while Shulet finished third (48:37.57).

As winners, Sangma and Iangjuh were both awarded Rs 10,000 each in prize money, with smaller amounts going to the other podium finishers and the 10 consolation prize winners. Gifts were also presented to the top finishers of the ‘Run for Fun’ at the prize distribution ceremony.

(Photo contributed by the Meghalaya State Olympic Association. Front row from left – Darishisha Iangjuh, Dateibankynmaw Marwein, Pynhun Shulet, Emphius Nongrum, Batsrang A Sangma, NP Singh)

Facebook Comments