Shillong, Jan 28: Meghalaya played out a 0-0 draw against Haryana in their Group C fixture of the Junior National Football Championship (Tier 1) for the Dr BC Roy Trophy at the JN Stadium here today.

In front of good numbers of home supporters Meghalaya were by far the more attacking side, but Haryana managed to fend of the hosts’ forays forward and the Meghalaya boys appeared to get increasingly frustrated at not finding a way through, while Haryana looked happy just to come away with a point from the contest.

Prior to kick-off, Sports & Youth Affairs Minister Banteidor Lyngdoh, who was the chief guest on the occasion, greeted the players of both teams accompanied by Principal Secretary DP Wahlang, Inspector General of Police AR Mawthoh, Sports & Youth Affairs Director Wanri Booth, Meghalaya Football Association President Larsing Ming Sawyan and other dignitaries.

In the two morning matches defending champions Mizoram were held to a goalless draw by Goa in Group A thanks to some spirited defending by the Goan team, while Sports Authority of India edged Odisha in Group C 1-0 with a second half goal by Parimal Sarkar, who scored in the 83rd minute, around two minutes after he came on to the pitch as a substitute.

In the second match of Group A Uttar Pradesh romped to a 5-1 victory over Delhi. UP went into half time leading 1-0 thanks to an own goal but Delhi then equalised in the second half. That led to UP coming back strongly and they scored four goals in the remaining minutes through Mohammad Taushif (70′) Himanshurai (81′ penalty) and Nitish Shyam (87′, 90’+1). Delhi had their lone goal come about via a Fahad Temuri penalty conversion in the 58th minute.

Tomorrow’s fixtures:
Group B (JN Stadium) – Punjab vs Kerala (9:30AM); Jharkhand vs Manipur (2PM)
Group D (Third Ground) – West Bengal vs Jammu & Kashmir (9:30AM); Karnataka vs Chhattisgarh (2PM)

(Meghalaya Football Association photo of the Meghalaya and Haryana teams with dignitaries)

Facebook Comments