Shillong, Feb 11: Lumpyngad CC defeated Malki CC by six wickets and with more than 10 overs to spare in the final of the Second Division of the Shillong Cricket League at Polo Ground here today.

Malki won the toss and chose to bat first but were skittled for a mere 62 in 16.4 overs. Apjalson Marwein was the top scorer with 14.

Bikash Thapa stormed through the batting line-up, claiming 4/11 in just 2.4 overs, while Mukesh bagged 3/16 in 4 overs.

The chase ended in just 9.3 overs, with Lumpyngad winning comfortably, though they did lose four wickets in the process.

George Kharkongor hit 19 and Abhay Kr Rai 15, while Marwein nicked 2/16 and Heh Kamai Sari 2/10.

Thapa was named Player of the Final for his excellent bowling in the first innings.

As champions, Lumpyngad were awarded Rs 12,000 in prize money.

(Shillong Cricket Association photo)

Facebook Comments