Shillong, Jun 24: Daniel Wahlang and Balarisha Thyrniang won the men’s and women’s events respectively at the fourth edition of the Shillong 10K Run here today morning.

The race was held to celebrate International Olympic Day, which is observed annually on 23 June to mark the foundation of the International Olympic Committee in 1894. Races of 10km in length are held all over the world on the nearest Saturday as part of the occasion.

The Shillong 10K Run has become a popular addition to the street race calendar and several hundred runners, from children to senior citizens, registered through the Meghalaya State Olympic Association website, with others accommodated on the morning of the run itself.

The race was flagged off by Sports & Youth Affairs Minister Shakliar Warjri (also ex-officio President of the MSOA) in the presence of Director of Sports & Youth Affairs Isawanda Laloo, MSOA General Secretary Finely L Pariat and other senior members of the MSOA and the DSYA.

In his speech before the flag-off, the Minister said that he was informed recently that some 80 percent of young people do not get enough exercise and he encouraged all those present to continue to remain physically fit.

The route began at the gate of Polo Ground complex before heading to 4th Furlong, BK Bajoria School, PGT College, Shillong Commerce College, Don Bosco Square, Laitumkhrah Police Point, Laitumkhrah Police Beat House, Fire Brigade, Dhankheti, Barik Point, Civil Hospital, State Central Library, Meghalaya Secretariat, Deputy Commissioner’s Office, Governor’s House, Ward’s Lake, Chief Minister’s residence and concluding back at Polo Ground.

Daniel Wahlang crossed the finish line first, followed by Wolbetstar Ramsiej and Sainkupar Jyrwa in second and third places respectively in the men’s event. Then followed Balarisha Thyrniang as the first among the women, with Bandasharai Marwein second and Marqueenless Ramsiej third.

The victors of both races received Rs 7,000 each, with Rs 5,000 each for the second-placed finishers and Rs 3,000 each for those who came third. Consolation prizes of Rs 1,000 each were given to those who finished from fourth to eight places in both categories.

There were also special prizes for the veterans – those above 50 years – with Badon Singh Tham finishing first among the men. The 51-year-old had come second in 2022 and went one better this year. Pynshngainlang Dkhar was second and Kedrick Kharpor third.

In the veteran women category, Bitiris Marbaniang was first, ahead of Starina Jasain and Snora Rani all crossing the finish line in under an hour.

The cheques for the podium finishers were handed over by Laloo and Warjri, who also ran part of the race distance with MSOA officials.

(Meghalaya State Olympic Association photo)

Facebook Comments