Shillong, Jul 21: The Meghalaya Golf Promoters’ Society held its annual general meeting and elections here today.

Two officers each from the armed forces – Assam Rifles, 58 Gorkha Training Centre and Environment Park and Training Area of Umroi Cantonment – and local golfers attended the AGM.

Daniel S Jyrwa was elected President, Michael Hek Vice-President, Gaurav Bajaj Secretary and Kishan Singhania Treasurer.

The MGPS is the state golf association of Meghalaya and is affiliated to the Indian Golf Union and Meghalaya State Olympic Association.

Its mission is to develop the sport of golf in the state and it has also conducted various national and international events in the past few years, which has promoted tourism in the state and brought Meghalaya to the national golf map, the MGPS said in a release today. The society is also committed to the promotion of golf among underprivileged children.

It is also one of the few state golf associations in the country that is fully compliant with
the National Sports Development Code, as per central government, Indian Olympic Association and Indian Golf Union guidelines, it added.

Finely Pariat, General Secretary of the MSOA, was the observer at the AGM and election. The returning officers were advocates Ritre-oo Lyngdoh and Kyntu I Laloo, who conducted the elections according to procedures laid down by the NSDC.

Cabinet minister AL Hek, who is the Chief Advisor of the MGPS, spoke about the prospects of golf tourism in Meghalaya, which is blessed with one of the best natural golf courses in Shillong. Rocky Hek, member of the Dorbar Shnong of Golf Links, assured of full support to work for the growth and promotion of golf in the state.

Apart from the four office bearers, 13 members of the executive committee were also elected. These are Jonathan Iawphniaw, Pooja Goenka (female member), Lt
Kunal Bhagwati Singhvi (Umroi Environment Park and Training Area), Lt Col Gaurav
Nayyar (Assam Rifles), Col Vk Gehlaut (58 GTC), Rahul Bajaj, Rudi Warjri, Laishram Buddha Sing, Rohit Arora, Prakash Pathaw, Amit Shukla Baidya, Joydeep Bhattacharjee, Rocky Hek (Special Invitee of Dorbar Shnong of Golf Links).

(Meghalaya Golf Promoters’ Society photo)

Facebook Comments