Shillong, Apr 17:¬†Jail Road Boys School and RB¬†Anupchand School won the Shillong Cricket Association’s U-14 and U-17 cricket tournaments, respectively, here today.

The U-14 IP Das Memorial final was between Jail Road Boys School and Madrassa Hemayatul Islam School. Jail Road Boys won by 11 runs after scoring 92/6 in 15 overs and then dismissing their opponents for 81. Player-of-the-match and player-of-the-series Bicky Kumar Singh scored 27 runs for Jail Road and took 5-16. He scored 120 runs in the tournament and claimed 10 wickets.

Faiz Ahmed of Madrassa took nine wickets and was named ‘Best Bowler’. Ashwat Bhuyan of St Edmund’s School was the ‘Best Batsman’, Adit Raman (also St Edmund’s) was ‘Best Wicketkeeper’. Jail Road Boys were adjudged the ‘Best Disciplined Team’. Bhuyan and Ahmed were the ‘most promising players’.

Meanwhile, in the U-17 Babu Ondromoni Dkhar Memorial final, RB Anupchand beat All Saints School by five wickets.

All Saints put up a total of 122/2 in 20 overs, but the champions chased that target down in 18.5 overs for the loss of five wickets. Rohit Yadav smashed 40 runs off 25 balls for RB Anupchand and he was named player-of-the-match.

The player-of-the-series was Joydeepan Deb (All Saints), ‘Best Bowler’ was Amaad Siddique (BSF School), ‘Best Batsman’ was Sahil Sharma (RB Anupchand), ‘Best Wicketkeeper’ was Aman Marbaniang (Laban Bengalee Boys School) and the ‘Best Disciplined Team’ went to KV Happy Valley.

(Photo contributed by the Shillong Cricket Association)

Facebook Comments