Shillong, Nov 9: Meghalaya concluded their Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22 campaign with a massive 92-run victory over Arunachal Pradesh in Mangalagiri, Andhra Pradesh, today.

With this win, Meghalaya finished second in the Plate Group, only behind Vidarbha, which was the only team that Meghalaya lost to in five outings.

Kishan Lyngdoh (pictured right) and guest professional Chirag Khurana (left) had another fantastic partnership together after Arunachal Pradesh won the toss and chose to field first.

After hitting an unbeaten 85 against Tripura yesterday, Lyngdoh followed that up with an 82 off just 52 deliveries today in an innings that included 12 fours and one six over long on. Khurana, for his part, smacked 10 boundaries in his 78 off 48 balls. Lyngdoh and Khurana finished the group stage as seventh and eighth in the list of top run getters, with 247 and 226 respectively.

The two put on 138 for the first wicket, which Lyngdoh dominated. Once he fell, Khurana took over the bulk of the strike in partnership with fellow guest professional Punit Bisht (22), who has barely got a look-in this season because of the fantastic form that both Lyngdoh and Khurana are experiencing.

Meghalaya finished on 194/3 in their 20 overs, one of the highest totals the team has managed in its T20 domestic history.

Arunachal, who lost all of their matches, could not muster much of a challenge in the chase and finished on 102/6 in 20 overs.

Meghalaya used nine bowlers in all, with Khurana claiming the best figures of 2/12. Ravi Teja took 1/2, Dippu Sangma 1/15, Himan Phukan 1/16 and Akash Kumar Choudhary 1/25 for an exquisite all-round performance by the team.

(Meghalaya Cricket Association photos)

Facebook Comments