Shillong, Jun 4: Cricket Lovers won the final of the East Khasi Hills’ Cricket Association’s T20 Tournament by 33 runs over Nongdawah to lift the trophy in Mawryngkneng today.

Player-of-the-final Winningstar Khongjoh
Player-of-the-tournament Rohit Kumar Yadav

Nongdawah won the toss and chose to field first but an unbeaten 56 from 32 deliveries for player-of-the-final Winningstar Khongjoh took Cricket Lovers to 163/5 in their allotted 20 overs. Rohit Kumar Yadav also made a handy 29 from 27 while Bhaboklang Nongpluh claimed 2/32 for the bowling side.

In reply, Nongdawah were in the hunt thanks to Moonlight War’s 38 from 25 balls and Resting Sari’s run-a-ball 18 but the loss of too many wickets made the chase difficult and they were ultimately dismissed for 130 in 17.4 overs. Eventual player-of-the-tournament Yadav (3/20) and Rahul Prem Rai (3/27) were the most successful of Cricket Lovers’ bowlers.

Present on the final day were Meghalaya Cricket Association Honorary Secretary Gideon Kharkongor, MCA Honorary Treasurer Dhrubajyoti Thakuria, the Sordar Shnong of Mawryngkneng Peter Lawai and senior officials of the East Khasi Hills Cricket Association.

Kharkongor, Thakuria and Lawai were also on hand to formally inaugurate the new practice cricket pitches at the ground.

(East Khasi Hills Cricket Association photos)

Facebook Comments