Shillong, Apr 9: Sputnik were crowned champions of the Shillong Cricket League’s Super Division 2022-23 after defeating Rangkynsai SC by 34 runs in the final on Saturday.

On winning the toss, Sputnik chose to bat first and scored at five-plus an over to post 215/7 in 40 overs, led by Amiangshu Sen’s 71 from 83 balls. Tarique Siddique also contributed 31 from 32, while Rangkynsai’s Rahul Shah bagged 2/41.

In reply, Kishan Lyngdoh smashed 91 from just 85 deliveries but he was the lone bright spot for Rangkynsai as they were all out for 181 in 37.2 overs. Md Nafees Siddique bowled a brilliant spell of 4/26 and Aryan Bora 4/30.

At the prize distribution ceremony, Swarajeet Das was declared Player of the Series for scoring 190 runs and taking five wickets.

(Shillong Cricket Association photo)

Facebook Comments