Shillong, Oct 27: A second half goal from Lyngketkut Myrchiang was all that separated Mawkhar and Lawsohtun as the latter claimed a 1-0 victory and the Second Division 2018 title at the SSA Stadium here today.

Lawsohtun ran their opponents close in the dying few minutes, but were denied by the crossbar and Mawkhar held on for victory.

By being the top two teams from the division both sides had already qualified for promotion to next year’s First Division, but today’s match was for the title, trophy and Rs 25,000 for the champions, with Rs 15,000 going to the runners-up.

Despite being defeated, this is the second season in a row that Lawsohtun have been promoted. Only last year they had won promotion to the Second Division from the Third.

There was little to really report from the first half, but things took an upward turn in the second half when Defender Pyngrope was fouled by Lawsohtun.

The resulting free-kick in the 75th minute was absolutely stunning from Myrchiang, who aimed his long-range attempt perfectly into the back of the net.

With 15 minutes left on the clock Lawsohtun tried to get back into the game and Mawkhar pulled their players back in defence.

Joinborlang Nongspung had one of the best chances, but his shot off a cross in the 88th minute went wide from very close range. Pleishan Khongshun was then denied when his rocket strike in the sixth minute of stoppage time crashed into the crossbar and bounced back into play, which pretty much gave Mawkhar victory as the referee blew the final whistle soon after.

Tuesday will see Laban and Nongrim Hills face off in the final of the First Division at 3:30PM at the same venue.

(TSR photo)

Facebook Comments