Shillong, Aug 16: The Meghalaya Basketball Association, in collaboration with the office of the East Khasi Hills Deputy Commissioner, conducted the Independence Cup 2019 3×3 Basketball Challenge, which ran from 13th to 15th August at the JN Sports Complex, Polo, here.

The chief guest at the prize distribution ceremony was East Khasi Hills Deputy Commissioner Matsiewdor War Nongbri. The guest of honour was East Khasi Hills District Sports Officer Daniel Dan and the special guest was Meghalaya State Olympic Association Working President John Kharshiing.

Four top players from the men’s and women’s categories were also selected to represent Meghalaya at the 3×3 National Basketball Championship, which will be organised by the Basketball Federation of India in Bangalore from 22nd to 24th August. The men’s team will comprise Dennis Ale, David Matte, Iohborlang Shadap and Pleasantly Synnah. The women’s team will comprise Ucilia Pyngrope, Iairy S Sangma, Evarista Lyngdoh and Yarisha Wahlang.

Independence Cup results:

U-14 girls – Pine Mount Girls (winners); Touchline Midgets (runners-up)

U-14 boys – St Anthony’s HSS (winners); St Claret HSS (runners-up)

U-19 girls – ENE Ballers A (winners); ENE Ballers B (runners-up)

U-19 boys – Unique SC (winners); Team Jet (runners-up)

Women – Hoop it Up (winners); Shockers (runners-up)

Men – Kings Men (winners); Rangjanai (runners-up)

(Photo contributed by the Meghalaya Basketball Association)

Facebook Comments