Shillong, Oct 5: Meghalaya defeated Manipur by three wickets to win their fifth Vijay Hazare Trophy plate group match in Dehra Dun today.

This was Meghalaya’s second victory of the season. They made one change to their playing XI, going with Dipu Sangma in place of Wallambok Nongkhlaw.

The match was restricted to 40 overs per side and Manipur chose to bat first after winning the toss, making it the first time Meghalaya have chased this season.

Manipur were dismissed for just 90 in 25.1 overs, with professional Sanjay Yadav scalping 3/19. Abhay Negi (2/14) and Akash Kumar (2/24) bagged a brace of wickets, while Aditya Singhania claimed 1/16.

Meghalaya were made to work hard in the chase, but managed to make 94/7 in 18.4 overs.

The first three wickets fell for just two runs on the board, but Meghalaya’s other professionals Punit Bisht (29) and Ravi Teja (19) steadied proceedings with a partnership of 42. They were later dismissed, however, but Meghalaya were taken over the line by Amiangshu Sen (15 not out) and Negi (16 not out).

Meghalaya will next take on Mizoram on 8th October.

Facebook Comments