Shillong, Oct 8: The Meghalaya Cricket Association has held send-offs for its U-19 men’s and senior men’s cricket teams as they prepare to take part in BCCI competitions this season.

In Shillong, MCA Honorary Secretary Gideon Kharkongor, Honorary Treasurer Dhruba Jyoti Thakuria and Apex Council Member Peter Macdonald Kharsawian were on hand to convey the association’s best wishes to the senior men’s team (pictured) that will represent Meghalaya at the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, a BCCI domestic T20 tournament for men.

The team had begun their preparatory camp here on 5th October. Meghalaya’s first match will be on 16th October against Hyderabad in Jaipur.

MCA Vice-President Rayonald Kharkamni and Thakuria travelled to Jagiroad, Assam, to see off the U-19 men’s team that will take part in the Vinoo Mankad Trophy, a one day tournament.

The camp concluded in Jagiroad today and the team will now leave for Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh, tomorrow. Meghalaya will face Bengal in their opener on 12th October.

Meanwhile, Meghalaya played their first Women’s U-19 One Day Trophy match in Surat today, unfortunately losing it by 10 wickets against Vidarbha.

Made to bat first after losing the toss, Meghalaya were all out for 32 in 21.5 overs and then saw Vidarbha chase down the total in just 4.2 overs without loss.

Meghalaya’s next match will be against Pondicherry on Tuesday.

Meghalaya squad for Vinoo Mankad Trophy: Shubham Rasaily, Kshitij Singhania, Avinash Rai, Lensbirth N Marak, Rituraj Rabha, Angkit Tamang, Shahin Alome, Shavian Blah, Banialam J Mylliemngap, Josiah D Wanniang, Denikcheng Marak, Dingriko Marak, Bilgrak G Sangma, Charm Marbaniang, Da-u-la-biang Shangpliang
Standbys: Thunun R Marak, Justin Fancon, Ferando BM Sangma, Dipankar Barua
Support staff: Sandipan Deb Nath (head coach), Mark A Laloo (assistant coach), Gregory G Syiemlieh (trainer), Hamboy Langbang (physio), Prewindsong Sangma (manager)
Meghalaya fixtures:
vs Bengal, 12th October
vs Uttarakhand, 14th October
vs Hyderabad, 16th October
vs Delhi, 18th October
vs Maharashtra, 20th October

Meghalaya squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Riboklang Hynniewta, Sylvester Mylliempdah, Arien Bonchang Sangma, Chengkam Sangma, Junjun M Sangma, Mewada Shylla, Sanvert Kurkalang, Kilco R Marak, Lerry G Sangma, Ram Gurung, Anish Charak, Akash K Choudhary, Amiangshu Sen, Rajesh Bishnoi (guest player), Nahul Verma (guest player)
Standbys: Lakhan Singh, Md Nafees Siddique, Adarsh Joshi, Sengpan Sangma, Robert R Sangma
Support staff: Goutam Shome (head coach), Moisten Ch Marak (assistant coach), Vikash Singh Chauhan (trainer), Surojit Biswas (physio), Dhruba Jyoti A Sangma (manager)
Meghalaya fixtures:
vs Hyderabad, 16th October
vs Mumbai, 17th October
vs Mizoram, 19th October
vs Chhattisgarh, 21st October
vs Jammu and Kashmir, 23rd October
vs Haryana, 25th October
vs Baroda, 27th October

(Meghalaya Cricket Association photo)

Facebook Comments