Thangshalai win 2nd Division

Shillong, May 30: Mission SC and Thangshalai SC won the Mawryngkneng Greater Football League First and Second Divisions respectively.

The tournament was organised by the Mawryngkneng Cultural & Sports Club with the finals on Tuesday.

In the First Division title match Mission SC beat Mawmang SC 2-0 with both goals scored by man-of-the-match Perry Kharsati (35′, 52′). This was the third time that Mission had won the title, doing so previously in 2009-10 and 2010-11.

The champions took home Rs 40,000, with Rs 20,000 going to Mawmang. East Khasi Hills District Sports Officer Daniel Dann was the chief guest at the final.

Individual awards were also presented to Reggie Nongbet of Mawmang (Best Goalkeeper), Mission’s Kit Kharsati (Best Defender) and Pynbha Suting (Best Midfielder) and joint Top Scorers Iohborlang Mukhim of Pdengshnong SC and Dibin Nongspung of Nongdawah SC (eight goals each).

In the Second Division final, full time ended 0-0, but Thangshalai won 4-3 on penalties over Thad Nongtyrkhan SC. The champions were awarded Rs 20,000, with Rs 10,000 going to the runners-up.

Individual awards were also presented to Franky Warbah of Thad Nongthyrkhang (Best Goalkeeper), Kitborlang Nongrum of Thangshalai (Best Defender), Ripher Kharkongor of Thangshalai (Best Midfielder) and join Top Scorers Bickyson Kharkongor of Thangshalai and Wanlam Kharpran of Mawlyndep SC (four goals each).

(Photos contributed by Mawryngkneng Cultural & Sports Club)

Facebook Comments