Shillong, Mar 10: Mohun Bagan became I-League champions for the second time after defeating Aizawl FC 1-0 in Kalyani, West Bengal, today.

With 39 points, leading second-placed East Bengal by 16 and with only four games to go, the Mariners have an unassailable lead after an utterly dominating performance this season.

Bagan have lost just the one match in 2019-20 – to Churchill Brothers 4-2 on 8th December.

Today Papa Babacar Diawara scored the lone goal in the 80th minute.

Mohun Bagan’s last I-League triumph came in the 2014-15 season.

Meanwhile, defeat in this match and NEROCA’s exciting 4-3 win over Punjab FC leaves former champions Aizawl in the relegation zone. They currently have 16 points to NEROCA’s 18 but have a match in hand over the Manipur side.

(Photo: I-League/Facebook)

Facebook Comments