Shillong, Mar 27: The 2nd NTPC National Ranking Archery Tournament 2023 concluded today at the Archery Ground at the SAI Training Centre, NEHU, here.

Today saw the end of the senior category events, which brought together numerous top national archers. However, there were quite a few upsets along the way, with World Cup gold medallist Atanu Das finishing second in the men’s recurve to Tushar Shelkhe in the final, with the latter winning on a one arrow shoot-off.

Das’s wife, a World Cup and Commonwealth Games gold medal winner in her own right, did not take part due to an ailment but was present on the final day.

Other big names did not fare well either, such as Jayanta Talukdar who was beaten to the bronze in men’s recurve by Bommadevara Dhiraj. Tarundeep Rai, meanwhile, placed fifth.

In the other events, Ridhi of Haryana won the gold in the women’s recurve, beating Promila Daimary of Assam in the final, with Simranjeet Kaur of Punjab coming third.

The men’s compound was won by Simranjot Singh of Punjab, with two Delhiites – Abhishek Verma and Priyansh – taking the other two medals.

The women’s compound was won by Raginee Marko, with silver for Srishti Singh and bronze for Muskan Kirar. All three represented Madhya Pradesh.

The sub-junior events began on 20th March and the junior events on 23rd March.

Meghalaya won two bronze medals through Devraj Mohapatra in the recurve division of the sub-junior and junior categories.

There were 391 registered participants, comprising 78 sub-junior category archers, 115 juniors and 198 seniors, competing in the tournament, which was organised by the Archery Association of Meghalaya under the aegis of the Archery Association of India.

AAM President Matsiewdor War Nongbri, AAM Secretary Paia B War Nongbri, NEHU Vice-Chancellor PS Shukla and Meghalaya State Olympic Association John F Kharshiing were among those present on the final day.

Senior Recurve Men (70m):
1st Tushar Shelkhe (AIPSCB)
2nd Atanu Das (PSPB)
3rd Bommadevara Dhiraj (Services)

Senior Recurve Women (70m):
1st Ridhi (Haryana)
2nd Promila Daimary (Assam)
3rd Simranjeet Kaur (Punjab)

Senior Compound Men (50m):
1st Simranjot Singh (Punjab)
2nd Abhishek Verma (Delhi)
3rd Priyansh (Delhi)

Senior Compound Women (50m):
1st Raginee Marko (Madhya Pradesh)
2nd Srishti Singh (Madhya Pradesh)
3rd Muskan Kirar (Madhya Pradesh)

(Archery Association of Meghalaya photo)

Facebook Comments