Shillong, Jul 23: Five Meghalaya cricketers were honoured for their accomplishments over the past season of domestic cricket at the North East Cricket Development Committee’s 8th Conclave and 2nd Achievers Award on Friday in Aizawl, hosted by the Cricket Association of Mizoram.

The conclave, which held detailed deliberations on further strengthening the cooperation on cricket and other related activities among the six NECDC states, was chaired by Naba Bhattacharjee, President of the Meghalaya Cricket Association and founder and Co-Convener of the council.

He stressed on scaling up collaborative efforts as a unified group of six states to work together towards common goals, combining individual strengths and skills with teamwork. Meghalaya was represented by Rayonald Kharkamni and Dhrubajyoti Thakuria.

The glittering awards night was attended by cricketers of the six states, including award winners who were top performers of the BCCI domestic season in 2022-2023. Pu Zoramthanga, Mizoram Chief Minister, was the chief guest of the award function together with other dignitaries.

The MCA received an award for being promoted to the Elite group in the senior category during 2021-2022 BCCI domestic season, in addition for individual players for claiming maximum wickets, scoring maximum runs and keeping wickets in their respective category, during the season.

The players were:
Ajima Sangma, Senior Women’s team, 17 wickets
Mrinal Das, U-19 Men’s team, 346 runs
Manish Sharma, U-23 Men’s team, 25 wickets
Shreya Marak, U-15 Girls’ team, 8 wickets
R Ryngkhlem, U-16 Boys’ team, 4 catches and 2 stumpings as wicketkeeper

Ajima was also selected last season for the India Blue team in the senior women’s category but missed out selection due to injury during the tournament.

(Photo contributed)

Facebook Comments