Shillong, Oct 4: The Meghalaya Cricket Association held a warm send-off for the state team that will take part in the BCCI’s Women’s U-19 One Day Trophy in Surat from 8th October.

The MCA was represented by its President Naba Bhattacharjee, Honorary Secretary Gideon Kharkongor, Honorary Treasurer Dhrubajyoti Thakuria and Apex Council Member Peter Macdonald Kharsawian.

The squad of 15 cricketers and support staff were given inspiring words as they set off for the tournament. The MCA also named the captain and vice-captain of the team – Ankita Sharma and Dubleen Nengnong respectively. These two had performed exceptionally well at the recent MCA U-19 Girls’ Inter District Cricket Tournament. Indeed, all the girls in the state team were largely chosen based on their performance in the grassroots tournament.

There are some big teams in Meghalaya’s group, such as Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra but Bhattacharjee encouraged the young women not to be swayed by the name of the team alone.

“Once discipline and personal attitude are good, everything will fall in place. Do not suffer from an inferiority complex. We are no less than any other state,” he said.

Kharkongor also emphasised discipline as well as the importance of fitness.

“You are the future of Meghalaya cricket as you’re all under 19. There is a long way to go for you if you maintain your standard. It would be the happiest moment for us if we see one or two of you representing the country. That should be your aim as you go for this tournament,” he said, while stating, like Bhattacharjee, that skill-wise the Meghalaya team is as good as any but now is the time to demonstrate temperament combined with application of thought.

Head coach Ranjana Yadav has been impressed with her young charges since joining them for the preparatory camp on 25th September, describing them as “very talented”. Ankita and Dubleen also spoke about the responsibility given to them and hoped that the team would be able to do well for Meghalaya.

Meghalaya squad: Dianchidora N Sangma, Dubleen D Nengnong, Indariakor Kharwanniang, Fennysha Nongrum, Ankita Sharma, Kambesa Agitok, Abiezer Kharsyiem, Janicka R Marak, Monica Singh, Emisakani Warjri, Rikmanchi M Sangma, Jayshree Singh, Awesa G Momin, Jaylynn R Marak, Natasha Rabha

Standbys: Julitha Marak, Sistilin Ryntathiang, Banrikmen Lyngdoh, Marme M Sangma

Support staff: Ranjana Yadav (head coach), Marty Mustafa (assistant coach), Helyna D Sangma (trainer), Lucky Mary Marbaniang (physio), Baiahun Mylliemngap (manager)

Meghalaya fixtures:
vs Vidarbha, 8th October
vs Pondicherry, 10th October
vs Manipur, 12th October
vs Tamil Nadu, 14th October
vs Maharashtra, 16th October

(Meghalaya Cricket Association photo)

Facebook Comments