Shillong, Oct 15: An historic 18-member Meghalaya swimming contingent will leave for Bangalore on Sunday to take part in the Sub-Junior, Junior and Senior Glenmark National Swimming Championships.

While the Meghalaya Swimming Association has sent senior teams before, this is the first time that sub-junior and junior batches will also represent the state at the nationals, MSA President Joe Marwein said at a send-off function at Crinoline Swimming Pool today.

The sub-junior and junior categories will compete from 19th to 23rd October, followed by the seniors from 26th to 29th.

MSA General Secretary Ian Lyngdoh said, “It is an achievement for the MSA to send a team in spite of the Covid-19 pandemic, which affected swimmers and all other athletes.”

Swimmers were invited by the MSA for trials last month based on their previous performances at the state championship and Meghalaya Games. They have been drawn from Shillong as well as Shella, Umpung, Mawkyrwat, etc. Those selected then began training under MSA-appointed coach Pritam Halder.

“Since then our swimmers have improved incredibly well and we hope that they will bring laurels to the state,” Lyngdoh added. He also spoke about the MSA’s long-term plans to expand the sport in the state as part of a “strong sports ecosystem” that will be a pathway to the National Games and beyond.

Also present at the event were Meghalaya State Olympic Association Working President John F Kharshiing and General Secretary Chiranjib Choudhury.

Kharshiing highlighted Meghalaya’s new Sports Policy, which significantly increased the level of financial incentives provided to athletes who win medals at national and international events.

The MSOA will also give Rs 10,000 to the MSA to help with expenses incurred in participating in the nationals.

Meghalaya swimming team: Pynshngain Ora, Rangkynsai Myrthong, Banraplang Marbaniang, Shankupar Ora, Mary Jane Syngwan, Elarisuk Yooroi, Pdiangsuklang Syngwan, Khrawkupar Lyngdoh, Pynkhlainbor Wanniang, Baiahunlang Thongni, Meiaipynsan Tron, Cleric Wanniang, Sa-i-banbet Wanniang, Tvisha Jalewa, Atiar Bareh, Shaun Diengdoh, Liam Diengdoh, Anahad Ahlawat

(TSR photo)

Facebook Comments